The Thud Experiment

November 16, 2009 at 2:32 pm 4 comments

This is, in my mind, a must-see video. I haven’t taken the time to sift through much of the comments or editorializing but the video itself is well worth watching. The thud experiment is not the only such attempt at seeing the system from the inside and through a critical eye. Perhaps the only way to truly do this is to be perceived as ill and regarded as a patient. As R. D. Laing has said, “If you’re interviewing a patient in a mental hospital ward and you have a key in your pocket to get out and the patient hasn’t, the gulf in power in possession is enormous.” Watch the whole thing, some parts will certainly stand out among others. I find 2:46 – 3:12 to be particularly telling

I’ve been unable to get into lengthy posts lately, so the ten or so of you who regularly follow this weblog haven’t had much to see. Anyone new to this place should take some time to look through some of the older posts. There really is some interesting stuff that isn’t too well covered in other venues.

I hope to present some posts soon that are a little more directly from myself and less a commentary on things happening out in the world — specifically, my thoughts of and personal experiences with physical restraint in the school system and the concept of maladjustment.

Entry filed under: How far have we come?, Psychiatry. Tags: , , , , .

00:49 Abilify for Kids!

4 Comments

  • 1. bernays  |  November 24, 2009 at 9:55 pm

    This is your eleventh follower, who wishes you’d get on the stick.

    • 2. abellve  |  November 25, 2009 at 10:52 am

      Thanks, I wish I would to. It’s not for lack of trying.

  • 3. KHorn  |  November 24, 2009 at 10:57 pm

    I’m a little disappointed in myself that I hadn’t heard about this before. Definitely a good video. As I was watching it I did actually think about the possibility of the experimenters being committed and not being able to get released. And that’s what happened. That’s the stuff of horror movies, man.

    • 4. abellve  |  November 25, 2009 at 10:55 am

      Exactly, and the stuff of horror movies should never be deemed care. It was particularly eerie when he said, about pretending to be sick but improving, “It was an affirmation of their view of me.”


Contact:

abellve451@gmail.com

Join 44 other followers


